Community Staking Q&A #4: Eridian & Spacesider

This is the fourth interview in a series of text-based Q&A interviews with participants of the Lido Simple DVT trials. Today I interview Spacesider, an Ethereum solo home staker and EthStaker contributor who’s participating in the current round of Lido Simple DVT trials.

Transcript

Eridian: Today I’m speaking to Spacesider about their experiences in the Ethereum staking ecosystem, how they got involved in staking, and how they are finding the Lido Simple DVT trials so far. Spacesider, it’s great to have you here.

Spacesider: It’s a pleasure to be here chatting to you, Eridian.

Eridian: The first question I ask everyone is “When did you get into crypto?”. I speak to a range of people for this Community Staking series and I want to show that everyone can get involved, whether you’re a crypto OG or have joined the space recently.

Spacesider: Great question! I studied computer science and it was during these studies (Sometime in 2013) that I had first heard of Bitcoin. One fellow student mentioned how they were mining Bitcoin on their gaming PC and how they are essentially getting free money by doing so because they are living at home and their parents are paying the power bill.

They explained how it is secured by SHA256 and how anyone can help secure it at any given moment and get paid for doing so, and that the network is not owned by any one person, but rather it is owned by “everyone”, so you don’t need anyone’s permission to join. It sounded so interesting, so that night I went home and read up about it in greater detail.

As I learned more about it over the coming months, I decided to try my luck at mining it too. Sometime in early 2014. I joined a mining pool called give-me-coins and downloaded some mining softwares (called bfgminer, cgminer and cudaminer) onto both my gaming desktop and laptop, and just like that I started CPU & GPU mining Bitcoin.